V2.3 **Solution** for Quiz Floating Timer

V2.3 **Solution** for Quiz Floating Timer

by Paul Caliban -
Number of replies: 16

Hope this helps for QUIZ - TIMER - FLOAT

I have a new client that had  Moodle V.1.9.x and they  loved the FLOATING CLOCK feature when taking a quiz. 

I upgrade them to V2.3 and they pointed out the LOSS of functionality.

I am new to Moodle and had no idea that feature existed at one time.Clearly the Quiz Navigation Block did not float in V2.3

So I implemented this brute force bit of code to make the Nav Block always stay in view and only takes a few minutes to install!

If this saves someone research time and/or allows someone to publish a better widget! Great! smile

I have only tested with IE 9 (64bit), Firefox 14, Chrome.  However, seems to work fine, but I am looking for breaks.

This very generic code surgically moves the ".block-region" (name of quiz panel) so the TIME is always in VIEW!

Step#1  Get a copy of Jquery and install in your JS folder   (I downloaded and used jquery-1.8.0.min.js)

Step#2  Modify the QUIZ renderer.php program 

Note: (CSS [position;fixed;]  and other methods did not seem to meet my need of auto scroll)

......root/mod/quiz/renderer.php 

In renderer.php Line 289 area!  BLUE insert code below (attached also)

/**
     * Outputs the navigation block panel
     * @param quiz_nav_panel_base $panel instance of quiz_nav_panel_base
     */
    public function navigation_panel(quiz_nav_panel_base $panel) {

$output = '';
        // this output makes the QUIZ nav bar BLOCK Scroll with the questons!  .block-region
        $output = '<script type="text/javascript" src="/_js/jquery-1.8.0.min.js"></script>
                <script language="javascript">
                var name = ".block-region";
                var menuYloc = null;

$(document).ready(function(){
                        menuYloc = 0;
                        $(window).scroll(function () {