Moodle 2.3.1 - Tex filter not working

Moodle 2.3.1 - Tex filter not working

by Patrick Tydtgat -
Number of replies: 10

Hello,
I did a complete new installation using on a server at 1Eurohosting.be.
Everything went well. good php-versions - good Mysql-version.
Ik set the permissions for mimetex ans algebrafilters as '755' (and even tried '777'.
As an administrator I turned the filters on.
Unfortunately the latex-expressions not render at all.
I tried a simple expression in a html testfile: $$ \frac{1}{2} $$
I got the text \frac{1}{2}
On clicking on this text I got:

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request

I aleady looked around on several forums, but as not being expert enough,
I don't understand the way to work around.
As a math-teacher, I used moodle 1.8 with very satisfaction. Everything with tex-etc... worked fine. So for the moment I am a little dissapointed due to great expectations about the upgrade to 2.3.

I have no direct acces to the server. So /usr/bin/ ... etc is not possible to use I think.

Can someone give me a hint where I could find direct usable information.
I only want to have mimetex working.
For the moment not more sofhisticated rederesoftware.
Thanks for any help.
Kind regards.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Patrick Tydtgat

Re: Moodle 2.3.1 - Tex filter not working

by Mauno Korpelainen -

How did you set those permissions? With some command, FTP program... For folders or files like filter/tex/mimetex.linux (on Linux) ?

"Something" might block these permission chamges to take effect - for example SeLinux ( see http://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=63195 ) or a missconfigured .htaccess file and you might get more info if you set debugging to ALL from Site administration > Development > Debugging

In reply to Mauno Korpelainen

by Patrick Tydtgat -

Thank you for the first care.
I have access to my files bu a program 'DirectAdmin'.