Adobe Edge and Moodle

Adobe Edge and Moodle

by Guido Gautsch -
Number of replies: 23

I'd like this thread to just act as a general forum discussing Edge and Moodle approve

By now, many of you would have heard of Adobe's latest pet project Edge. Adobe announced a couple of weeks ago that it won't develop Flash for mobile devices any longer (read: Apple won) and will now focus on software that utilises open tech, i.e. HTML5, along with CSS3 and JavaScript  big grin

Edge is the product they've come up with and you can download it for free and have a play with it. It creates HTML pages that call JS scripts for animation and interactivity. It's designed to be deployed cross-platform, on all OSs, browsers and mobile devices...hooray! I've been playing with it for a couple of weeks now and it's pretty cool. I have no background in web design and  know little about HTML, let alone CSS and JS but it's making it quite easy for me to create animations and even interactive content that works both on the desktop and for mobiles. Even non-techie teachers could use it to create interactive content relatively easily.

My question is: how easy will it be to integrate content created in Edge into Moodle? Are people already doing it? Do you see any merit in using Edge?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Guido Gautsch

Re: Adobe Edge and Moodle

by Marcel K -

i totally agree.

edge is is exactly the tool i was looking for.

In reply to Marcel K

by Dan Trouten -
In reply to Dan Trouten

by Guido Gautsch -

Thanks Dan. 

my still haven't found answer to my first two questions, though:

How easy will it be to integrate content created in Edge into Moodle? Are people already doing it?

Edge generates HTML and .js files, that call upon resources stored in a folder. 

The Hot Potatoes module already integrates such files into Moodle quite well. Would we need a similar Edge Module?

by Gavin Henrick -
Picture of Plugin developers

HI Guido,