Flash module add-on: Making media player(jw player) screen reader accessible

Flash module add-on: Making media player(jw player) screen reader accessible

by Ganesh Krishnamurti -
Number of replies: 16

Hey All,

I am a newbie to moodle. I tried installing jw player module in moodle. It seems that the jw player does come up when I tried to access videos. But then when I would like to make it screen reader accessible. This page http://www.longtailvideo.com/support/jw-player/22/making-video-accessible#Example_Codes says that for doing that we need to add hidden controls to the page. Can anyone please let me know how to make that happen?

Thanks,

Ganesh

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Ganesh Krishnamurti

Re: Flash module add-on: Making media player(jw player) screen reader accessible

by Matt Bury -
Picture of Plugin developers

Hi Ganesh,

Are you using this module?: http://code.google.com/p/moodle-mplayer/

If so, to provide Section 508 compliant video, you'd need to provide an XML captions file with a timed text transcript. There's various caption authoring tools available that can produce captions that are compatible with the JW Player, i.e. TimedText .xml (AKA RealText and SubRip .srt).

For enhanced accessibility, you can also provide synchronised audio files for audio descriptions of what's on screen for the sight-impaired.

The Media Player module makes deploying this and much more very easy. smile

I hope this helps!

Matt

In reply to Matt Bury

Re: Flash module add-on: Making media player(jw player) screen reader accessible

by Ganesh Krishnamurti -

Hi Matt,

Thank you very much for your help.

Can you please suggest me some good automatic captioning software that you know? I just heard of youtube but then I guess you need to upload videos to youtube to do that if I understand right.