Change in styles_color doesn't show

Change in styles_color doesn't show

by Blair F. -
Number of replies: 10
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers
I'm new to themes but am going crazy trying to figure out why a change that I am making in our custom theme, in the styles_color.css file just doesn't show up! I've used Firebug to determine exactly which line needs to be changed and confirmed this by activating and inactivating that particular line of code.

I've tried to edit the line from within firebug AND by just going directly to the styles_color.css file. I've changed the $lifetime variable in the styles.php file to 1 second, I've cleared cache and STILL this change just doesn't show. I've searched all of the files to see if maybe I have the wrong file, but am sure that I don't.

I really don't know what else to try, so any help would be appreciated. Hopefully, I've provided enough info.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Blair F.

Re: Change in styles_color doesn't show

by Blair F. -
Update: I'm going bonkers.

The line I'm trying to remove is "color: #00A5E3," so to help me try to figure out why it wasn't working, I searched and replaced ALL occurances of #00A5E3 with #FFFFFF. Then I did a search of ALL files in the Moodle folder and subfolders for #00A5E3 to make sure it didn't show up anywhere, at all.

Then, I
* closed Moodle
* cleared cache
* re-opened browser
* returned to Moodle

.. and STILL #00A5E3 color shows up everywhere and even when I use firebug to examine the element. I have no idea where it's getting this from.

TGIF

In reply to Blair F.

by Frank Ralf -
Hi Blair,

Chances are that your settings are overridden by some parent theme's setting. CSS FAQ and Themes FAQ are good starting points for learning more about CSS and theming. You should rename your own theme so it doesn't interfere with existing themes.

hth
Frank
In reply to Frank Ralf

by Blair F. -