how to write the SQL queries in moodle friendly code

how to write the SQL queries in moodle friendly code

by Mark Lloyd -
Number of replies: 28

I’m a newbie to Moodle and PHP so forgive me if I’m not making much sense

I want to create a block which will search a table in the database (which I have already created) and display the results from the search in a new page.

I have created some PHP code (from phpMyAdmin) of the queries that I wish to run but i don’t know how to write these queries within Moodle

The first one is

$sql = 'SELECT * FROM `mdl_block_archive` WHERE `title` LIKE \'%HTML%\' LIMIT 0, 30 ';

Where the LIKE clause is (\'%HTML%\) I would want to refer to the data from the form that the user has input

The second one is

$sql = 'SELECT * FROM `mdl_block_archive` WHERE `category` = \'Computing\' LIMIT 0, 30 ';

Any help please

Many thanks

Mark

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mark Lloyd

Re: how to write the SQL queries in moodle friendly code

by Leo Dil -
you can use the Moodle Libraries like: dmllib.php
In reply to Mark Lloyd

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
You need to use the functions is lib/dmllib.php.

For example your second query is

$archives = get_records('block_archive', 'category', 'Computing', '', '*', 0, 30);

By the way, doing LIMIT 0, 30 is going to return 30 records at random. Shouldn't you be specifying an order-by?

So, get_records gets records with a WHERE like x = y.

For your first query, you need something more complex, so you use

$archives = get_records('block_archive', "title LIKE '%HTML%'", '', '*', 0, 30);

By the way, don't put backticks around the column and table names. That is MySQL-only, and Moodle code should work on all our supported databases.