Open Source VLEs in higher education (Thesis)

by Karin van den Berg -
Number of replies: 42
Hello to all,

Let me introduce myself: I am a university student in Tilburg, The Netherlands. Currently I am working on my graduation project, which has the subject of Open Source VLEs in higher education.

My university is currently using Blackboard. I have hear they are considering switching to open source when the license expires in the summer of 2005. I have heard they are researching Whiteboard, which I think is a horrible mistake given the comparison at edutools and the fact it hasn't been updated for over a year.

I am hoping that once my project gets going the results will be taken into consideration by the ICT department when looking for an alternative for BB. Moodle seems to be one of the best options to me at the moment.

My thesis will focus on comparing VLEs for the purpose of using it to support university education. The main question is whether open source VLEs can support the learning process on universities.

I am planning to set up a short survey to send to universities that have adopted an open source VLE.

I would love any feedback from the forum readers here, any input is welcome. I am hoping to write the thesis bilangually so I can produce an english version on the web for those contributing in some form or another (i.e. feedback, answering the survey, etc).

P.S. Apart from graduating student I am a freelance PHP programmer (hopefully fulltime after graduating), so I will be looking into this from a programmers point of view as well, and if I can find a suitable pilot case, perhaps program a small module for one of the open source VLEs I will be comparing in detail.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Karin van den Berg

Re: Open Source VLEs in higher education (Thesis)

by Michael Penney -