YUI Block

YUI Block

by David Mark Weiss -
Number of replies: 6
I am new to Moodle. Downloaded the YUI block. I put the zip file into the Blocks folder. I unzipped it there. I went to the notifications link in the admin menu. The YUI block was there. I clicked on some button there and thought it got installed. When I go back to the Notifications menu item, there are no further notifications.

However, when I go to manage blocks. That item doesn't show up.

I have restarted the server again and again, but still no joy.

the instructions talk about going to a class file and adding some text, but I have looked for an class files and can't find them in the moodle19 folder.

What step am I missing?

thank for your help.

Mark Weiss
Average of ratings: -
In reply to David Mark Weiss

Re: YUI Block

by Jenny Gray -
It sounds as if the block didnt get installed properly. You should have a blocks/yui folder - I'm wondering if by unzipping the file inside blocks folder you might have created blocks/blocks/yui which won't work.

Once you've got the code in the right place, go to the notifications menu and you should see some messages onscreen to show you that the block has been installed. It will then appear in the manage blocks screen.

The instructions you're talking about refer to creating your own block. You may find these instructions helpful http://docs.moodle.org/en/Installing_contributed_modules_or_plugins
In reply to Jenny Gray

by David Mark Weiss -
Thanks you so much for the reply. OK, It may have installed improperly. So how do I uninstall it? Because I have taken the folder out of the Blocks folder and put it back in again. Either way, the YUI menu doesn't show up in blocks administration.

Also, I don't know if this makes a difference, but the folder name actually is yui_menu. I wouldn't think that makes much difference, but just in case.

So I am still at a point, where when I list available blocks, adding this new folder doesn't work.