I just can't figure it....

I just can't figure it....

by Deborah Delin -
Number of replies: 16

Hi!  I'm brand new to Moodle - and floundering.

I am writing an English as a foreign language course for young children using Hot Potatoes.  My quizzes are very heavy on audio and images.

Yesterday I looked up all the posts on this forum on attaching audio and images to quizzes.  I have tried following all the instructions by Gordon, Mary and others, but I am still stumped so am evidently being extremely dense and missing something. 

I zip up my HP quiz in a folder together with the requisite image and audio files.  I upload it to Moodle then unzip it.  So far so good. 

In "Adding a New Hot Potatoes Quiz" I select "Choose or upload a file" .  I open my unzipped file and see all the assets displayed with the option to "choose".  When I choose the JMatch file, then in the Weekly Outline area of my course I see the name of the quiz with an internet symbol  but when I select this I get "This Page Cannot be Displayed".  I tried choosing all the individual images and audio files, one by one, but this didn't work either.  I'm going round in circles.  Please help.

Two further questions for when I hopefully get past my problem above.  For my audio player I am using  hbs_mp3_player.swf.  Do I need to select "force media plug ins" or not?

About putting the Hot Pots file and the required audio and image files in the same file.  I have all my Hot Pots exercises in a file on my computer together with a file of all my assets.  To pick out the relevant files for each exercise is extremely time consuming, but I am not sure if it would be a good idea to upload the whole of my assets folder in one load to my server.  And if I did would each exercise be able to "find" the assets relevant to it? 

Hoping one of you angels out there will have the patience to help me out of my fog and thanking you in advance for trying.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Deborah Delin