Improved SPAM detector (GSOC2009 proposal)

Re: Improved SPAM detector (GSOC2009 proposal)

by Priyanka M -
Number of replies: 0

Hi,

My name is Priyanka Menghani. I am in my second year of B. Tech (Bachelor of Technology) in Computer Science at Banasthali University, India. I like C, C++, PHP and Ruby-on-Rails. I have a bit of Open Source experience. Please refer to my github page for the same [0].

I have done quite a bit of PHP, and used it for fun to make Stock Exchange simulation games, online puzzles etc. I am currently going through the moodle code-base. I also suggested a patch for a bug [1]. To understand moodle even better, I am helping fix a couple more of them.

I am interested in the Spam-Cleaner project idea. My suggested implementation of it is as follows.

1. Pro-active Marking of Posts

If there has been a large number of posts (say, Xi, where Xi varies for every user / IP) from the same user / IP in a fixed amount of time, then there is a likelihood of the posts being spam, or the user flooding the forum.

In such a case, further posts are suspended and require the administrator's approval. In case the administrator marks any of the mail as spam / flooding, the value of Xi for that user and IP would be lowered.

The second strategy that will be used is a Bayesian filtering technique, where the probability of a message being spam is analysed. If the mail looks highly probable of being spam, it is filtered for the administrator's approval. This is not done instantaneously, but instead a cron-job runs which analyses the messages in the background, so that there is no additional latency for clean messages.

2. Administrator's Action

The administrator can act on spam in three ways,

a. Take decision on the posts which have been filtered due to the proactive marking of the posts.