newbie in moodle - where to start

newbie in moodle - where to start

by gonen r -
Number of replies: 12
Hi,

I'm a newbie in moodle development, and I'd like to get some tips/links/descriptions in order to dive in as fast and easy as possible.

I'm familiar with modular systems (mostly Drupal), and I'd like to know more about the architecture of the moodle system.
For example - I would like to understand how (and if) plug-ins are related between one and the other. can I develop a module that changes the behavior of other modules (known as hooks in Drupal) ?

My current need is to develop a module that integrates the Kaltura services and API into moodle, in which the Kaltura capabilities will be reflected all around the system (starting in user profiles, forums, lessons, resources etc.)
For this I thought to start with adding a widget to the HTML editor, but still didn't find a way/tutorial/example that will somehow guide me through.

Links to modules/plugins that provides some of my needs (like system-wide affect) would be most helpful.

As far as I could see, a filter cannot implement it's own UI, and works only "behind the scenes" to replace/extend the HTML output.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Gonen

Average of ratings: -
In reply to gonen r

Re: newbie in moodle - where to start

by Mari Cruz García -
Hello Gonen,

If you are familiar with Drupal and you know about php, the first thing I would do is to set up a development site so that I could play with the code and get familiar with the different directories and folders.

I don't know if you have used Wampserver for drupal, but I would use that plaftorm to set up a LAMP environment that allows me to run Moodle in Windows. Otherwise, if you download Moodle 1.9 for windows, you can launch it directly with XAMPP.

Once you have your site, I would start reading the documentation for administrator and developers.