by Sam Wells -
Number of replies: 15

Attachment _cid_2814511-2200810642174822612_13071999.jpg
Average of ratings: Not very cool (1)
In reply to Sam Wells

Re: Army Jokes

by Martín Langhoff -
Hi Sam!

This kind of discussion is not very polite -- moodle.org people usually care about education.

War is a sad and divisive thing, and users and developers of Moodle have found themselves in nasty wars before.

Let's change the subject... please smile there are a million websites discussing war, politics, financial meltdowns, etc.
In reply to Martín Langhoff

by Jesse Kilroy -
Easy, Martin.

I'm new to Moodle but i think that Sam should be able to post those images of the war in Iraq. The war itself has become nothing more than a policing of a fragile country, so poking fun at what already has turned out to be a joke shouldn't be condemned by this site. I'm well aware that it isn't much of a laughing matter to the soldiers and the families of the soldiers, but to have a Moodle authoritarian come down on a simple posting seems excessive.

As you claim that Moodle is all about education, one should be quick to point out that there is little in the world which produces learning and adaptation than war. For example, one may point out that it seems as though the United State's "Surge" of troops seems to have worn down the terrorist resistance significantly. Those who do so, however, are quick to forget the results of Britain's eerily similar surge of troops into Ireland in the 70's. The Irish Republican Army went into submission where they planned and trained until unleashing a violent string of bombings in Northern Ireland and England. They say history repeats itself, and in this case, we're all awaiting al-Qaeda's plans to be carried out.

Did ya learn something, Marty?
In reply to Jesse Kilroy

by Paula Clough -