Displaying custom profile fields in a block

Displaying custom profile fields in a block

by Antony Coombs -
Number of replies: 5

Hello all - I'm very new to working with blocks, but have got to grips with the basics of building them. I'm not quite so up-to-speed on how I can call up user information, etc. to display in a block.

What I'm looking to do is display the custom profile fields for the current user, as a kind of quick reference for them (i.e. without them having to visit their profile page)

Any pointers or suggestions would be really welcome

Cheers -- Tony

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Antony Coombs

Re: Displaying custom profile fields in a block

by Antony Coombs -

Ok - doing a Lewis Carroll White Queen and screaming before my finger was pricked - working on it a bit more, I found I can just call the global $USER and then access $USER->custom_field_name

sorry to bother you all

cheers -- Tony

by Antony Coombs -

I had a message asking how I did this, so I thought it would be better to put it here so that anyone can see (and correct, if what I've said is either inaccurate or bad practice!)

I'm assuming anyone reading this is ok with the basics of building a block (as shown at http://docs.moodle.org/en/Development:Blocks )

So... in the block content section of your block's php file, you need some code along the lines of the following:

function get_content() {

global $USER; // you need this line to be able to use the global array "$USER" within this function

if ($this->content !== NULL) {
return $this->content;
}

$this->content = new stdClass;