Downloading a Backup my Course to my own Computer

Downloading a Backup my Course to my own Computer

by Arlo Speer -
Number of replies: 5

As a relatively new administrator, I'm managing to master most of the ongoing tasks associated with operating Moodle.  Although about a year ago, I successfully saved a back-up copy of my course on my own computer, I've totally forgotten how to do that ... and can't find the process anywhere.

Can anyone please point me to where I can find out how to save a back-up copy of an existing course on my personal computer.  My plan is to upload it again at a point in the future, probably onto a different server.

Thanx

Arlo

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Arlo Speer

Re: Downloading a Backup my Course to my own Computer

by A. T. Wyatt -
Greetings, Arlo!

Backup:
http://docs.moodle.org/en/Course_backup

Restore:
http://docs.moodle.org/en/Restore

I hope this is what you were looking for! (Remember, if the course archive is larger than the maximum upload size, you might have to upload it directly to the appropriate folder in moodledata rather than using the moodle web interface.)

atw

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to A. T. Wyatt

by Arlo Speer -

Thanx ... the backup process does work for me; however, I'm looking for a way to save the back-up file on my own computer, rather than storing it on the Moodle server itself.  I'm planning to transfer the course from one host system to another and wish to retain a safe backup copy on my own computer, just in case things get lost.

The last time I saved a course on my own computer it was really simple ... and just a slight twist on the backup process.   I'm still missing the one step that'll put the backup copy on my own PC, rather than save it on the Moodle site.

Arlo

In reply to Arlo Speer

by A. T. Wyatt -