PHP LDAP module does not seem to be present

PHP LDAP module does not seem to be present

by chris johnson -
Number of replies: 53

I'm a moodle newbie, and installed Moodle 1.5.2 on Windows 2003 server using Easy PHP from http://moodle.org/doc/?file=installamp.html#windows.  The install worked well, and I was able to log on.  I went to switch the authentication method to LDAP, and received the following message:

Warning: The PHP LDAP module does not seem to be present. Please ensure it is installed and enabled.

I uncommented extension=php_ldap.dll in the php.ini file in c:\program files\easyphp1-7\apache, thinking that would solve the problem.  I also specified the extensions directory c:\program files\easyphp1-7\php\extentions\.

Now when I start easy.php, I recieve a Windows dialog box that says apache.exe - unable to locate component.  The message is "This application has failed to start because SSLEAY32.dll was not found.  Re-installing the application may fix this problem." 

Then I get a second dialog box that says "Unknown(): Unload to load dynamic library 'C:\Program Files\EasyPHP1-7\php\extensions\php_ldap.dll' - The specified module could not be found."

TIA!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to chris johnson

Re: PHP LDAP module does not seem to be present

by chris johnson -
Fixed, I added my PHP directory to my Windows Path.

by Lars Jensen -
Hi Chris,

We're trying to test ldap authentication on a windows installation of moodle, with Easyphp, and we ran into the same problem with the ldap module not being present. We tried to include the php directory in the windows path, but this didn't fix it. How exactly did you fix this?

Thanks,
Lars.
In reply to Lars Jensen

by Iñaki Arenaza -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers