Default Mark

Default Mark

by D L -
Number of replies: 13

I am new to Moodle and using version 2.2. I am attempting to create a multiple-choice quiz that will contain a total of two questions. I have so far created one question that asks "Which of the following statements are true?" There are four choices for this question, and the student can choose more than one. Two of the choices are correct.

What would I set the Default Mark to? What is the Default Mark? There doesn't appear to be an explanation of it in MoodleDocs. The only definition I found on the Web was at this Amherst site, but it doesn't make sense to me. Can someone give me a clear explanation of "Default Mark" and possibly how I'd set it for my quiz? Thank you.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to D L

Re: Default Mark

by Mark Hardwick -

D L,

In the screen where you build the question there is a box where you can choose if you want 'one answer only" or if you want "multiple answers allowed".  You should choose multiple answers to do what you are asking to do and then at each answer there is a box to put the grade with the % you want to give for answering that answer such as 50% on each one. That way they have to answer both to get 100% otherwise with just one answer right they will only get 50% for the entire question.

To make the final scoring do right you have to go into "edit quiz" under "settings" and set a point value for each question and make sure the total for all questions adds up to the total at the top.  For instance, if you have 20 questions in a quiz then each question is worth 5 pts each and the total at the top is 100 pts.  Without this step the quiz will not score out when the user finishes the quiz.

Hope this helps,

Mark 

In reply to D L

by Tony Gardner-Medwin -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers