Function parameters

Function parameters

by Richard Hayes -
Number of replies: 8

Hi,

I'm totally new to Moodle but need to integrate it with a new website, I've been given a list of functions that we need to use, but I have no idea what the parameters for the functions are nor can I find any documentation on the functions.

Does anyone know where/how I can find these out?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Richard Hayes

Re: Function parameters

by RICHARD gillette -

Which of the webservice functions (REST, SOAP, XML-RPC...ect) are you going to use? I use the REST api and if you send me the functions you need to use I can share with you what I have written so far.

For looking at what the parameters will be for the functions, for course related functions go to moodle/course/externallib.php in your moodle directory. same for user/externallib.php and enrol/externallib.php. In those files are the functions params, definitions, and returns. If you are going to write your own functions, moodle/lib/db/services.php is another place to create references for adding the functions to moodle.

Richard Gillette
www.omnibond.com

In reply to RICHARD gillette

by Richard Hayes -

Hi Richard,

Thanks for your response. The functions I need to use are:

• moodle_enrol_manual_enrol_users 
  • moodle_user_create_users 
  • moodle_role_assign
I'm using XML-RPC which I happy to use so all I'm after is the parameters for each function and I should be good to go.
If you do have these then great, if not I'll get the company to send their moodle dir over so I can trawl through that.
Many thanks
In reply to Richard Hayes

by RICHARD gillette -

I do not know how xml-rpc works but it should be very similar. I use an LWP agent to post the following for create users in perl with the REST api.

my $params = {

'wstoken' => $token,
                              'wsfunction' => 'moodle_user_create_users',
                             'users[0][username]' => $self->username,