Moodle Performance Concern

Moodle Performance Concern

by Jody Florian -
Number of replies: 2

Hello,

I'm new to Moodle and am evaluating it for a project that I expect to have most traffic on public content pages.

Out of the box with an empty database, (Ubuntu Hardy, Apache 2, PHP 5, with xCache on a dual 3GHz CPU box with 4MB RAM), Moodle 2.0+ is loading pages no faster than 0.77 seconds for a non-registered user, and 1.77 seconds for admin. Not good! Does it sound like I am doing something wrong here? I can't imagine anyone using this software with such stats.

I would have hoped to see infrequently changing public content pages load in under 0.2 seconds. I imagine there's a caching solution (which I would like to hear about) but may or may not address performance for registered users and frequently changing pages.

(Incidentally I saw a question but no answer to this: has performance for Moodle 2.0 been given a low priority while major features/problems are being fleshed/flushed out?)

On reading around I saw comments that version 1.9 was significantly faster, so I might switch to that while 2.0 is improved.

So is Moodle 2.0+ ultra slow or is it just my set up?

Thank you

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jody Florian

Re: Moodle Performance Concern

by Myles Carrick -
hi Jody,

Welcome to Moodle. That is indeed slow for an Ubuntu server (even an older distro like Hardy). My MacBook Pro, for instance, is faster than that in development.
There will be a huge performance advantage from using a PHP cache like APC. Google Ubuntu Hardy + PHP + APC for advice installing APC on your system. I used to install it via PHP's pecl / pear libraries back on Hardy.
In later distrubutions (like the latest LTS release of Ubuntu) it's a simple as `apt-get install php-apc`