rate (scale) bug or at least limitation

rate (scale) bug or at least limitation

by Andrew Gollan -
Number of replies: 17
I am a Latin teacher who has my students choose a Latin name from a list of about 25 options. I tried to make a questionnaire do that and ran into a bug, or at least a significant limitation. I want the students to list their top 5 choices of name. So I created a 'rate' question, said that responses were required, that the number of scale items was 5, the type of rate scale was 'no duplicate choices' and then put in my 25 choices, one per line in the possible answers box.

When I previewed the question the silly thing had overridden my '5' and replaced it with '25' and I had a huge mess of answering to do.

While I certainly don't object to it defaulting to the number of answers, I really do want to choose that number sometimes. Is there a fix?

Andrew Gollan
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Andrew Gollan

Re: rate (scale) bug or at least limitation

by Joseph Rézeau -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Ave Andrew,

I'm afraid you have misunderstood the way the "rate" question works in questionnaire.sad It will certainly not enable the respondent to rate only 5 out of 25 possible choices. It can only enable the respondent to put 25 items in order of preference.

You should use the Check boxes question type, making sure to set both Min. forced responses and Max. forced responses values to 5. If a student submits their responses with less or more than exactly 5 choices, an error message will be displayed.

See attached screenshots.

Hope that helps,

Joseph

screenshot

Attachment image00.jpg
In reply to Joseph Rézeau

by Andrew Gollan -
I am impressed by the speed and thoroughness of this response. You even mocked up my exact situation. Thank you.