how do I cross-link content from one course to another

how do I cross-link content from one course to another

by Thorwald Westmaas -
Number of replies: 7

I'm just getting started with Moodle but I wonder how this can best be done.

Say, we have a language course that is basically a grammar reference book.  It contains explanations and optional exercises around these grammar topics.

Then we have reading & comprehension courses.  People read an articles and answer questions, write a summary, etc.

I know one can create glossaries to link content to an explanation but would it be possible to link that (glossary) explanation or the word itself directly to the appropriate topic in the other course so the student can fresh-up his/her knowledge on that particular topic?

Thorwald

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Thorwald Westmaas

Re: how do I cross-link content from one course to another

by Bryan Williams -
Thorwald,

The glossary highlight feature will not work between courses, but you can create a hyperlink to the other course glossary entries that should work for students that are enrolled in both courses (in same instance of Moodle).
In reply to Thorwald Westmaas

by N Hansen -
I've got a similar situation, and while there are a couple work-arounds, none are completely satisfactory. Currently there are two alternatives as far as I can ascertain-you can make a glossary "global," which means it can be linked to from every course on your site. But this would only be useful if every course on your site were related to the grammar course. The other option would be to duplicate the glossary in more than one course, but then this is kind of redundant. There are some moves in the work to make various sorts of content shareable between courses, and perhaps the sharing of glossaries should be included.
In reply to N Hansen

by Dave Bethany -

I have done this in several instances and it works quite well.