Custom Assignments for Individual Music Lessons

Custom Assignments for Individual Music Lessons

by Carles Camarasa -
Number of replies: 0

Greetings everyone,

As a newcomer to Moodle, I'm both impressed by its capabilities and daunted by the sheer volume of possibilities it offers. I'm a trumpet instructor aiming to create a virtual learning environment within Moodle but encountering a few hurdles.

My primary challenge revolves around the nature of music instruction, particularly for instruments like the trumpet, where practical application through playing takes precedence over written exercises. Consequently, video submissions are the most effective means of assessing student progress. To address this, I've been writing 2-3 weekly assignments for each student. However, the individualized nature of music instruction, with its myriad variables, makes crafting personalized assignments a time-consuming endeavor.

In seeking a solution, I've envisioned a system that standardizes assignments while allowing for subtle variations. My idea involves creating a database where I can catalog these variations and systematically incorporate them into future assignments, thus streamlining the process for years to come. Here's a breakdown of the assignment structure I have in mind:

1. Title: Each assignment is identified by a title such as "Exercise 1 (Rhythm)." Here, "Exercise 1" denotes the ID of the material (e.g., exercise, song), while "(Rhythm)" specifies the focus area.

2. Description: This section provides an overview of the assignment, emphasizing the specific material and instructions. For instance, "Let's work on $ID_of_material. We'll focus on $Instructions_summary."

3. Instructions: Detailed guidance on performing the exercise, ideally linked to a rubric and competency framework.

4. Material: Multimedia attachments, typically PDFs and MP3s, potentially including videos or links.