Customization capabilities with Moodle?

Customization capabilities with Moodle?

by Dustin D -
Number of replies: 4

We have an existing learning app, but it was written from scratch and is not adaptable to the direction we want to go (web-based with potential for mobile in the future).  As a result, we're exploring other platforms, as well as considering rolling our own solution using an application framework.

I guess our primary areas of concern are:

1. Can we set up different levels of permissions?  For example let's say we have companies in our LMS (our customers) that have managers that have instructors who have students, can we manage this type of relationship?  If I'm a manager, can I see my instructors and their students, while limiting instructors from seeing each others students/courses?
  2. We do a lot of sessions consisting of content with videos, lessons, etc., with quizzes and some custom logic around the quizzes (highlighting questions and going back through topics, various custom workflows around a student taking a session/class and needing to revisit certain material based on test results).  I'm assuming all of this is customizable and more complex workflows can be managed with some custom software development?
  3. How extensible is the UI?  I know it can be themed, but I'm trying to understand if we'll be limited if we want to do some more complex things.  This could include everything from how users enter quiz answers (clicking checkboxes vs. an interface that looks and feels more like a scantron with radio buttons you click to shade in, etc.) to special session tools outside of just normal video and text.
  4. How customizable is the calendar?  We might want to allow students to select their schedule, or instructors, and have some complex logic around various sessions.  Is this doable?
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Dustin D

Re: Customization capabilities with Moodle?

by Chris Kenniburg -