Creating a moodle plugin for data visualisation

Creating a moodle plugin for data visualisation

by Louis Enyioha -
Number of replies: 7

I am currently carrying out my dissertation, which is on improving data visualisation in e-learning platforms and i am looking at creating a data visualisation tool (a plugin), compatible with the moodle platform.  However, I am a newbie to moodle and have a few questions.

1. Will i be able to create a customized plugin with customised features (functionalities) to address the problems I have identified?

2.  I have gone through some tutorials and videos but they are all basic, is there any more detailed tutorials i can get?

3.  If i instal a theme/template, would i be able to customise it to the functionalities i want (add and remove some features)?

4.  If i create a plugin (for my project) will i be able to rest the functionalities or do I have to submit the plugin to moodle for acceptance before i can test the functionalities?

Again I am a newbie so please forgive me if my questions seem irrelevant. I am just here to learn

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Louis Enyioha

Re: Creating a moodle plugin for data visualisation

by Marcus Green -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

1). Everyone is a newbie at some point smile. You need to decide what type of plugin you are going to create, i.e. what type of learning activity is it going to be. So my speciality is towards question types. Creating a question type means you can take advantage of existing code for things like marking and starting saving and backing up instance etc. However you might want to look at other plugin types such as the assignment or assignment submission type.