Grouping for users and THEIR courses, not just one course.

Grouping for users and THEIR courses, not just one course.

by JT Emerson -
Number of replies: 7

I have been learning about the grouping feature, but I don't think that it is exactly what I need. I am new to Moodle so feel free to point out the obvious if need be. 

I need to create a group that has a teacher and students, but the students are not all enrolled in the same course. Basically, the teacher is the leader of the group who will have the ability to create users within his group and see the reports for the students in the group. Like I said before, the students will not all be taking the same course. Immagine this for example:

A company has three employees that each operate a different type of machine. The manager of the company will have a group on the Moodle site JUST FOR HIS COMPANY. The forklift operator will take the Forklift course, the Trackhoe operator will take his course, and the Dump Truck driver will take his course. The manager can see the course progress and reports for all three employees. 

Is this type of thing possible in Moodle? How can I create this? Does grouping have the capacity to do this?

Thanks for the help guys!

-JT

Average of ratings: -
In reply to JT Emerson

Re: Grouping for users and THEIR courses, not just one course.

by Yousuf Tafhim -

I don't think grouping would work in this scenario.

In reply to JT Emerson

by Melanie Scott -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

Grouping is a courses only feature and specific to groups within the specific course.  So no.