(Dreaded) Hooks in Moodle :)

Re: (Dreaded) Hooks in Moodle :)

by Chris Weber -
Number of replies: 0

Hi everybody,  it's been years since I've come into this development forum.  But I thought I'd chime in here because I have a lot of experience with one of the open source projects that Dan mentioned (Drupal, 10 years exp):

The hook system in Drupal has served it well in the past 13 or so years, but it's not a system that Drupal developers seek to expand at this point.  If you like nerd words you can think of a hook system as a Global Event Dispatcher that allows custom code to register code that will execute when a specific event is executed.  You can write custom code that says, "Find anything that implements this hook, and let it run now".

Since the release of Drupal 8 last November, Drupal has included within it's core platform an actual Event Dispatcher.  As a result many of the new "hook" that plugin developers would introduce are created as a events / event listeners / even dispatchers.

If you're looking to introduce a hook system into Moodle, I would recommend looking at Event Dispatchers instead.  For several reasons:

1. It's a solved problem: There is a good chance you could look around to existing PHP Frameworks (Drupal uses Symfony2) to reuse their Event Dispatcher.  You could just drop a library in (as long as the rest of the code can work with composer / autoloading code).  I hear that someone made it possible to get Moodle installed with Composer, so you might already have that level of support.