Rollover of material for new academic year

Rollover of material for new academic year

by Marc Storey -
Number of replies: 12

Hi

I am new to Moodle and previous administrators have left with no handover some 6 month s ago,-everything I learn is from scratch with no prior knowledge.

The desire for the new academic year is to roll over the courses and content-last year all content was erased and teachers don't want this to happen again which I can appreciate. There was a course template that was used and those that want content erased will have to re adopt the same format as last year.

From someone who has no knowledge of this side can a community member tell me how this is done,  some say need to use CSV files ??? but for someone who has used Moodle for a month this is all over my head. I would appreciate some direction as there is no notes material left by those in situ.

many thanks

Marc

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Marc Storey

Re: Rollover of material for new academic year

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers
Couple of options:
1.  Courses can be backed and then restored to new courses.  Just do not include the users and they will be like a fresh copy of the course.
2.  Use a csv file to upload the new courses and reference the old courses as the template.

How to do this is all detailed in the documentation.  Just look up Course Back Up and Restore and Course Upload.
In reply to Emma Richardson

by Marc Storey -

Hi

Thanks for your reply, I have successfully backed up and restored a course in a test area.

The question I have relates to CSV, I have only run through completing a csv file once how would I "reference the old course as the template".

again many thanks

Marc

In reply to Marc Storey

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers
In reply to Emma Richardson