Using Moodle as a "Secure FTP Site"?

Using Moodle as a "Secure FTP Site"?

by Carissa Wolgamott -
Number of replies: 9

I am new to Moodle and am wondering if it is possible to use Moodle as somewhat of a secure ftp site (version: Moodle 2.0)?  I would like for a user to be able to upload files that only they and one other person would be able to have access to.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. smile  I am wondering if I should be using file system repositories, a hidden course, etc.?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Carissa Wolgamott

Re: Using Moodle as a "Secure FTP Site"?

by Andrew Normore -

/bump

I'm looking for a good solution to this as well. I'd like users to be able to upload files, and set them public or private. 

I want them accessible to guests from external sources, as well.

by Allegre Guillaume -

Maybe you should tell what do you mean by "secure ftp site", because I think this expression could be very confusing.

Do you mean any sort of user interface which allow users to upload files, but with a dedicated client software (not a web browser) ? Or precisely using the FTP protocol (File Transfer Protocol) ? Or one "Secure FTP" protocol, as described in http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Secure_FTP#Secure_FTP ? (SFTP is the most used).

If you mean using a specialized protocol (FTP, SFTP...), it can't be only a Moodle feature, as you need a server for this protocol. If it is possible, it would certainly be a kind of Moodle Repository, see http://docs.moodle.org/23/en/Repositories

But are you sure that the standard "Upload a file" repository (via the browser) doesn't fit ? Because if you choose a solution based on an external server, you will have to maintain a second reference for user accounts. Maybe possible for a few users, but it seems not very scalable.

In reply to Allegre Guillaume

by Carissa Wolgamott -

Guillaume,