Diploma / certificate

Diploma / certificate

by Hugo Salgado -
Number of replies: 60
Hi.
I'm a programmer that recently started learning about moodle.
I need to create a "diploma" or "certificate" generation add-on to moodle
for a local course that is being driven in moodle.

I've been reading the code and learning how to hack it to insert this new
option, but i would like also to contribute to this community with this
tool (in the case it would be useful to you).

Any ideas, about how to start and develop it following the standards
and being generic enough to make it integrate smoothly into moodle?

Thanks and i hope that my work will be useful.

Hugo

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Hugo Salgado

Re: Diploma / certificate

by Bryan Williams -

Hugo,

This is very timely for me. I have a situation right now that could use this feature. I was intending to connect the certificate/diploma generating feature to a custom PHP registration form that is being created, with an admin interface. What might be ideal is to create this feature as a Moodle module, which could be hidden until the completion of the course. At that point, students simply create their own certificate/diploma if they have completed requirements. If the page generated is in landscape view, like a real diploma, that would be nice. Should have a way for admin to add their logo and maybe a seal graphic if desired. 

In reply to Bryan Williams

by Hugo Salgado -
My idea is to generate a pdf with a custom logo, title and signature. The name of the student and course will be obtained from the database.
Thanks for your feedback!

In reply to Bryan Williams

by David Lamotte -
Rather than create another seperate module, why not integrate the Certificate function into the grade book ?