Deleting Submitted Assignments

Deleting Submitted Assignments

by Gayle Walbeck -
Number of replies: 40
Hi,

I'm new to Moodle but am doing okay so far. Almost. Today a student accidentally submitted an assignment in the wrong place. I can't seem to find where to go to delete the assignment so that he can upload the correct one. I'd rather not turn on the allow multiple submissions option. It seems like there is probably a way for a teacher to delete a submission - it only makes sense that there would be - I just can't find it.

Thanks to all!
Gayle Walbeck
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Gayle Walbeck

Re: Deleting Submitted Assignments

by Anthony Borrow -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
Gayle - It can be tricky to find. First you need to know the assignment id of the assignment which can be tricky to find. The easiest way I know is from the submissions.php page. On the top of the page, hover your mouse over the title of the assignment and you should see something like:

http://yoursite.com/mod/assignment/view.php?a=2920

2920 is the assignment id. You will also need to know the user id for the student. That is easier to find (especially if you are already on the submissions page). Simply put the mouse over the students picture and you should get something like:

http://yoursite.com/user/view.php?id=504&course=1564

504 is the user id. Now that you have that information. Go to Files and then a folder called moddata, assignments, look for folder with the assignment id, then look for the folder with the student's user id. You should now see the file in question and be able to delete. There has been some discussion of simplifying this for teachers. I'm not sure if an issue was created in the tracker; however, it seems to be a more and more common request. If a feature request exists already in the tracker, I would encourage you to vote for it. If not, please feel free to create one.

Peace - Anthony