Some ideas about glossary index to non-Latin languages

Some ideas about glossary index to non-Latin languages

by Zhigang Sun -
Number of replies: 0

Hi all,

Im a newbie of moodle, charset, mysql and php, and especial of English. Wish what I say wont drive you mad. J

The glossary index works well only on Latin languages. Ive done some research to make it support all other languages (Chinese at least, its my native language). The index keys are still A-Z. Many languages (at least, Chinese. Can anyone tell me other non-Latin languages do the same?) have their own way to map native character to Latin letters.

The following is code in mod/glossary/sql.php about it (Hope I found the right position).

case 'letter':

if ($hook != 'ALL' and $hook != 'SPECIAL') {

switch ($CFG->dbtype) {

case 'postgres7':

$where = 'AND substr(upper(concept),1,' . strlen($hook) . ') = \'' . strtoupper($hook) . '\'';

break;

case 'mysql':

$where = 'AND left(ucase(concept),' . strlen($hook) . ") = '" . strtoupper($hook) . "'";

break;

}

}

if ($hook == 'SPECIAL') {

//Create appropiate IN contents

$alphabet = explode(",", get_string("alphabet"));

$sqlalphabet = '';

for ($i = 0; $i < count($alphabet); $i++) {

if ($i != 0) {

$sqlalphabet .= ',';

}

$sqlalphabet .= '\''.$alphabet[$i].'\'';

}

switch ($CFG->dbtype) {

case 'postgres7':

$where = 'AND substr(upper(concept),1,1) NOT IN (' . strtoupper($sqlalphabet) . ')';

break;

case 'mysql':

$where = 'AND left(ucase(concept),1) NOT IN (' . strtoupper($sqlalphabet) . ')';

break;

}

}

break;

Its obvious that moodle uses SQL to index. Since database dont support the mapping, we must do it by ourselves. Four rules:

1. Not affect other codes outside the case-break scope;

2. Support all charsets in a standard way (extendable);

3. Not use the special function of special database (Such as MySQLs charset support)

4. Performance.

I designed two function:

function LANG_glossary_index($hook);