Need help to extract a user's email from mdl_user table.

Need help to extract a user's email from mdl_user table.

by Frankie Kam -
Number of replies: 7
Picture of Plugin developers

Hi.

I'm new to SELECT queries in SQL in the Moodle environment.

How do I write a code that will retrieve a Moodle user's email address and name from the mdl_user table, given the user's id?
So far all I have, which works, is the below code that will send an email message to myself. I hardcoded my own email address
in blue text. What I need to do is to email a message to any user, given his or her user id. 

require_once('config.php');
$CFG->smtphosts = '';
echo '<pre>' . "\n";

$mail =& get_mailer();
$mail->From = $USER->email;
$mail->AddAddress('kamboonseng@gmail.com', 'Someone');
$mail->Subject = "A new message for you from ".$USER->firstname." ".$USER->lastname." ".$course->shortname;
$mail->IsHTML(false);
$mail->Body = "\nMessage:\n".$TheMainMessage;

if ($mail->Send()) {
echo 'Mail sent';
echo '</pre>';
} else {
echo('ERROR: '. $mail->ErrorInfo);
echo '</pre>';
}

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Frankie Kam
Malaysia 

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Frankie Kam

Re: Need help to extract a user's email from mdl_user table.

by Davo Smith -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Assuming Moodle 2.x (as you didn't specify):

$user = $DB->get_record('user', array('id' => $userid));
email_to_user($user, $USER, 'Subject', 'The text of the message', 'The <b>HTML</b> version of the <i>message</i>'); // See lib/moodlelib.php for the full list of options

(Note this will send the email from the current user ($USER) to the specified $userid)

Davo

In reply to Davo Smith

by Frankie Kam -

Hi Davo!