ASCIIMathML packages, fallback and SVG

ASCIIMathML packages, fallback and SVG

by Nicola Vitacolonna -
Number of replies: 27
Dear all,
sorry if my problem is trivial, but I am new to the topic and I am a bit confused about the several packages that can be found here and there.

I want to be able to type equations with (La)TeX syntax and have them rendered as MathML when supported by the browser, as images otherwise. I am using Moodle 1.9.5.

Now, I've found two main references: the Moodle Docs page (http://docs.moodle.org/en/ASCIIMathML) and the ASCIIMathML page (http://www1.chapman.edu/~jipsen/mathml/asciimath.html). They point to different versions of the same (?) packages. The first question is: which should I use? Either

http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=106148
plus
http://moodle.org/file.php/5/moddata/forum/130/483519/ASCIIMathML2wMnGFallback.zip

from Moodle Docs, or

http://www1.chapman.edu/~jipsen/mathml/asciimath.tar.gz
plus
http://www.pierce.ctc.edu/dlippman/asciimathtex/ASCIIMathMLwFallback2.js

from prof. Jipsen's page? Do I need to download something else (I don't need plugins for graphical editors)?

So far, I've stuck to the Moodle Docs page. As a first step, I've downloaded ASCIIMathML 2.0.2 from Sourceforge, installed and configured as explained (put inside lib, edited theme/standard/meta.php, etc… ). Everything (math and graphs) is working as expected.

Then, I have replaced ASCIIMathML.js by the fallback script linked from the Moodle Docs page (the file MathML2wMnGFallback.zip). Within the script, I have changed var AMTcgiloc to point to http://latex.codecogs.com/gif.latex and I have left AScgiloc unchanged. Should I change AScgiloc, and if so, how?

I ask, because math is still displayed fine with the fallback script (MathML rendering is even better than the original script – try $\int_0^\infty x$ for example), but graphs (e.g., agraph plot(sin(x)) endagraph) are not rendered any longer. Why is it so?