Installation prob - displaying the Index of/moodle

Installation prob - displaying the Index of/moodle

by andy deloso -
Number of replies: 15
hey everyone,
i am installing moodle on a linux server, and i use apache, and i have shell access...

so, when i go to my url to complete the installation, it takes me to the "Index of /moodle" page, where it simply lists all of the files and directories in my moodle directory. does anybody have any suggestions? help? i am sure it is something small... but, i just can not figure it out. ok, i appreciate any help, and have a great night or day!
Average of ratings: -
In reply to andy deloso

Re: Installation prob - displaying the Index of/moodle

by Adam Smith -
It sounds like Apache's DirectoryIndex for the Moodle server doesn't have the index.php entry in it. Did you do that step? If I'm not mistaken (I'm new to Apache myself), the DirectoryIndex is a list of files that Apache will try to run in order until it finds one. The installation directions recommend 'index.php index.html index.htm'. I believe that each 'server' in Apache has its own .htaccess where the DirectoryIndex entry is located, so you have to make sure that you are looking at the Moodle directory and not just the www directory. I hope this helps more than it hurts.
In reply to Adam Smith

by Richard Enison -
AS,

You're on the right track. The DirectoryIndex directive specifies what file Apache is to serve up when the browser only gives the URL of a directory, not a file. It doesn't have to be in an .htaccess file. The .htaccess file is for clients of shared web hosting servers who don't have access to the Apache configuration file itself (usually called httpd.conf). Normally you would put the DirectoryIndex directive in the configuration file.

It is up to shared web hosts whether to enable the use of .htaccess files, and what directives to allow in them.

RLE
In reply to Richard Enison

by andy deloso -