HTML editor does not appear

HTML editor does not appear

by Florian Reichl -
Number of replies: 19
I'm a freshman:
I installed Moodle 1.9+ and German language packs yesterday. Working with Moodle the HTML editor does not appear.

Administration -> Appearance -> HTML editor -> Use HTML editor is ticked.

Editing my profile there are no advanced settings in the "General" section. So it is not possible to switch HTML editing in the profile on or off.

Down below where I should enter the description about myself there is only a simple editor (no HTML). There is a link "Editor shortcut keys." which is, of course, useless.

I desparately need a HTML editor - please help me.

Thanks a lot for your support,
Florian
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Florian Reichl

Re: HTML editor does not appear

by Scott Bartley -
What browser are you using? I haven't been able to get the editor to work with Safari.
In reply to Scott Bartley

by Florian Reichl -
Firefox 2.0.0.13 on a Mac - but same problems with IE on Windows XP.

by Matt Molloy -

Hi Florian,

Have you tried 'Edit Profile' and then hit the 'Show Advanced' button. That should give you the option 'When editing text', from which you can choose the html editor.

Safari on the Mac will not show the editor, but Firefox will.

Matt

In reply to Matt Molloy

by Florian Reichl -
Hi Matt,

if I press the "Show Advanced" button nothing changes. I don't have the choice to choose any editor.

But if I turn to Site administration -> Appearance -> HTML editor I can switch the HTML editor on and off. If it is turned on I don't see the editor but I see a line that says "Editor shortcut keys" (which is not helpful since the editor does not work).

Thanks and best regards,
Florian

by Florian Reichl -
Solved!
There was an error in the /moodle/lib directory on the server.