Which wiki to use in 1.9 on a new Moodle installation?

Which wiki to use in 1.9 on a new Moodle installation?

by Johnathan Kemp -
Number of replies: 15
Hello Everyone,

I am in the process of setting up our first live Moodle site and am faced with the dilemma of selecting the wiki to use now, knowing that there will be a new wiki in Moodle 2.0.

Our users have limited experience of using Wiki's and my primary concerns are for stability and a clear upgrade path to 2.0. I have some experience of using the current wiki that is in the Moodle standard distribution and no experience of using Nwiki.

If I use Nwiki, in order to gain more functionality will there be a clear upgrade path to 2.0 or am I better staying with the current standard wiki?

Kind regards

Johnathan
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Johnathan Kemp

Re: Which wiki to use in 1.9 on a new Moodle installation?

by Steve Wright -
From my extremely painful experience so far with nWiki I would recommend sticking with eWiki for now... Depends if you believe reliability is more important than endless new features and minimal documentation thoughtful
In reply to Steve Wright

by Jestin VanScoyoc -
my 2 cents ...

I was using nWiki with moodle 1.8+ and moved to moodle 1.9+ At first I had trouble (a parsing error?) but they posted a revised nWiki version and since then have not had any problems. Not sure if I am "the norm" or "just lucky," but its been working well for me in moodle 1.9+

I would say the learning curve is a little steeper with nWiki because I didn't know media wiki syntax which I now prefer, but it is much better than standard wiki that I used for a short time in moodle 1.8+

In reply to Jestin VanScoyoc

by Steve Wright -