Thesis on Implementing a LMS on a Hotel

Thesis on Implementing a LMS on a Hotel

by Benson Lim -
Number of replies: 5

Hi!

I am a graduate student from the Philippines and my thesis is basically on implementing a LMS on a hotel.  I am leaning towards adopting Moodle but first, I just have a few questions to ask from the community.

1)  Is moodle a LMS?  I have done some research and encountered a couple of articles which include moodle as a LMS.  However, the definition on the main page states that it's a course management system.  Can someone please enlighten me on this? 

2)  Does moodle have a skills and competency tracking module?  Additionally, does it also have a certification module?

Thanks and kind regards!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Benson Lim

Re: Thesis on Implementing a LMS on a Hotel

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
1) The different people use the terms 'Learning Management System', ' Virtual Learning Environment' and 'Course Management System' for what Moodle does. They are all basically the same.

2) In Moodle 1.9, the latest version, the gradebook can track attainment against different Learning Outcomes/Rubricks/Competancies - another situation where lots of different words are used for basically the same thing.

There is a certificate module, available as a plugin.
In reply to Tim Hunt

by Benson Lim -

Thanks for the reply Tim.  The reason why I asked item no. 1 is because I might have to defend this to my panel.  I am assuming that they might question why I'm claiming it as a learning management system.  Nonetheless, some experts like Brandon Hall have categorized it as a LMS too.