Hiding General settings from Teachers

Hiding General settings from Teachers

by Wes Sykes -
Number of replies: 5

I am new to using moodle and struggling to discover how to hide some general settings from teachers.

e.g. I do not want teachers to be able to change the following

• full name
  • shortname
  • course ID number
  • Summary

Could anybody give me some idea as to what to do, if it can be done?

Thanks

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Wes Sykes

Re: Hiding General settings from Teachers

by Steve Hyndman -

You can't do this with roles. You will need to get into the code to accomplish this.

Steve

In reply to Wes Sykes

by sean behan -
if you have access to the code it is simple to change the type of the element being rendered. in this example i'll disable editing of the form element that is responsible for the course's fullname. you can apply this change to any element you like.

in course/edit_form.php around line 65, you can change the type of the element being rendered. for instance...

change 'text' to 'static' ...

$mform->addElement('text','fullname', get_string('fullname'),'maxlength="254" size="50"');

can be changed to...

$mform->addElement('static', 'fullname' ... //you don't need to adjust anything other than the first parameter of this function, from 'text' to 'static'.

if you do just this, you'll get an error when you try to update the form. you'll notice that there is a rule added to this element... about 3 lines down...

$mform->addRule('fullname', get_string('missingfullname'), 'required', null, 'client');

comment this line out with two forward slashes '//' like...

//$mform->addRule('fullname', get_string('missingfullname'), 'required', null, 'client');

this field is no longer a "required" element and so the form will now validate.