Using exponent function in the calculated Questions

Using exponent function in the calculated Questions

by Ranjith Valliyedath -
Number of replies: 8

Hello All,

I have an answer formula "(((([y]/100)+1)**18-1)*[x] *1000)/([y]/100)" in a calculated question of WebCT CE6. I need to convert this question on the Moodle version. Please note that x and y are variables on this question.

Please help me.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Ranjith Valliyedath

Re: Using exponent function in the calculated Questions

by Pierre Pichet -
Hi Ranjith,
First look at the help button on the upper part of the editing form of the calculated question.
There is also a reference to moodle docs at the editing form page.

So x and y will become {x} and {y} and you will be able to define there numerical values.
The other problem is that Moodle use mathematical php functions so that ** is converted to a power(...,...) function.
Being a teacher I let you find how to use the power function in your equationsmile as your homework.

Pierre

In reply to Pierre Pichet

by Ranjith Valliyedath -

Hi Pierre,

Many thanks for your reply. This will help. But i am still struggling to get the same answers which are appearing on the WebCT. Could you please provide me a answer formula for this one?

Regards,

Ranjith.

by Pierre Pichet -
On the docs that you can access from the bottom of the calculated question it is specified that pow (numberToRaise, NumberRaisedTo)
i.e pow(2,4) = 16 i.e 24

So (((([y]/100)+1)**18-1)*[x] *1000)/([y]/100)
becomes
(({y}/100)+1)**18
becomes
pow(
(({y}/100)+1) , 18 )
then
(
pow( (({y}/100)+1) , 18 )-1)*{x}*1000
then
(
( pow( (({y}/100)+1) , 18 )-1)*{x}*1000 ) / ({y}/100)
you remove the space and obtain a valid formula
((pow((({y}/100)+1),18)-1)*{x}*1000)/({y}/100)
that gives 64236.94 when {y} = 2 and {x} = 3

My conclusion is that analytical chemistry equations are easier...

Pierre

by Tiffany Hoefer -