Moodle Methodology and impact on students and teachers

Moodle Methodology and impact on students and teachers

by Andrew Wall -
Number of replies: 8

Hi Everybody,

I'm a University student in the UK and in my last year, currently in middle of my dissertation. I am investigating a suitable design methodology for the adoption of a LMS (i.e. Moodle) as a teaching tool and its impact on staff and students within a higher education insitution.

I am looking into how a university goes about adopting the use of learning management system into their learning and teaching as currently at my university, they have switch from WebCT to Moodle.  With regards to the impact on students and teachers, the investigation will look at whether there is a positive correlation between students' study with Moodle and their exam/assignment performance.

Therefore I would appreciate it if as many people as possible would care to share any thoughts / contributions on the above issues

Thanks
Andrew

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Andrew Wall

Re: Moodle Methodology and impact on students and teachers

by Susan Maros -
Andrew,

Our institution (in Southern California) has had an online program for nine years, the last four or five of which have been using WebCT, and we are now switching to Moodle. I am in the midst of designing and creating training for our faculty to aid them in making the transition. Thus, I am extremely interested in what anyone would have to say on the subject you've raised.

A question for clarification: when you say you are "investigating a suitable design methodology for the adoption of a LMS (i.e. Moodle) as a teaching tool", are you referring primarily to designing the transition from one platform to another or are you referring primarily to the learning theory issues undergirding course design ... or something entirely different?

Regards,
Susan
In reply to Susan Maros

by Andrew Wall -