Viewing Video in Moodle 1.3.1

Viewing Video in Moodle 1.3.1

by Allan Carrington -
Number of replies: 3
G'day all

And greetings from Adelaide South Australia. I am an Instructional Designer and not a techie as such ... so be gentle with me smile

I am excited that 1.3.1 can now handle Quicktime and enables video clips to be inserted for multimedia support of pedagogy. Many times I anticipate they will be "talking head" like. Add to that the downlaod/file size constraints of online delivery and I have found that an ideal playback size to be 240 x 180 pixels What Apple calls the "Internet size" in iMovie for example.

Am I missing something like a setting choice but when I load into Moodle for playback it only plays it back at 580x450 pixels. They look terrible. If we have to render videos with enough data for that size they will bloat out in file size. Most videos for online delivery dont need to be played back at that large view size

I hope I have done something dumb or missed a setting. Being able to specify the playback size would be such a help.

Look forward to being wrong.

Regards
Allan
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Allan Carrington

Re: Viewing Video in Moodle 1.3.1

by Martin Dougiamas -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
Currently, you need to hack mod/resource/view.php for this - there is no per-movie setting.

Quicktime is usually very good at scaling up movies, though.

Another option is to use a HTML resource and create a simple link to the file, then the Moodle filter plugin will embed the movie at a 400x300 size.
In reply to Martin Dougiamas

by Allan Carrington -
Martin

Thanks for the quick response and I really appreciate the software and the possibilities for online learning for the rest of us smile (i.e. the teachers/educators wanting to do online learning and teaching outside a institutional framework.)