Paypal requires students to create a new paypal account ... ?

Paypal requires students to create a new paypal account ... ?

by Dan Hall -
Number of replies: 4

I'm really new at Moodle and was interested in using the Paypal enrollment feature.  But when using that feature, students are taken to the Paypal page that requires signing up for a new account rather than just paying with a credit card.  I've ready several other responses herein that say this isn't true, so I was wondering if perhaps something's changed.

I downloaded 1.8.2+ or whatever the latest version is.

I used a dummy student and a paypal seller account.

Everything worked fine ... the course had the automatic enrollment feature and the button that said "click here to pay with Paypal and you'll be enrolled in minutes" or something to that effect.  But when I clicked the button, it took me to the paypal signup page.  I'd much rather it just go to a page that takes the money but doesn't require students to signup.  Anyone else notice this?  Is there a way to get what I'm looking for?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Dan Hall

Re: Paypal requires students to create a new paypal account ... ?

by Manish Verma -
I have faced this problem with payment of some students when the amount was larger than a monthly limit. It appears that anyone can pay upto a monthly limit without being a member. However, to cross that limit one has to be a member. This monthly limit can vary from country to country I guess.
In reply to Manish Verma

by Dan Hall -

Well, when I tested the paypal module, the amount I used was $1.00, so I guess $1.00 is my monthly limit ... ? mixed

I did find out that the system did register me for the test course.  I received an e-mail saying "welcome to the course"; however, I was not redirected from Paypal back to the site.

So, I guess if one wants to use Paypal, then some instructions will have to be given to students: