We offer the same course in many locations and when completed i move them into a metacourse where the alum can share resources and have continued community with their peers. Now after 6 semesters and 2000 students i am realizing that more then likely if i delete their original course, i will lose the alum from that location in the metacourse. The only way i can see of resolving this is to back up all the users, put them in a generic past alum course where the students will be individually enrolled and then add the past alum course as a child course into my alumni metacourse. This way i can delete all these old courses and make more room on my server for new ones.
I think my explanation is getting kind of rambling... Sorry.
Back to my story. So my problem then is i no longer have the alum in groups by their location so they have lost their community with their journeymates. the value is only being able to access the resources.
Any suggestions or help in maybe simplifying this or getting it to work as i envision?