Can someone give a good example of where to place the data for Config.php?

Can someone give a good example of where to place the data for Config.php?

by Rick Blanc -
Number of replies: 49
I am an instructor and not a programmer - this it why I am interest in installing Moodle. Why is the config setup so much harder than other PHP scripts? Perhaps it is one of the most difficult ones I've seen. I have installed the following with no issues with umderstanding the config setup process.

PHP/BB2 / Phase / Postnuke / Atutor

and had no problems with the install. Why then is Moodle so difficult.

I am asking if someone could give an explicid example of where and what to place in the variable brackets.

This is what php/BB2 gives you for a config entry options.

$pnconfig['dbtype'] = 'mysql';
$pnconfig['dbhost'] = 'dbhost.com';
$pnconfig['dbpass'] = 'password';
$pnconfig['dbname'] = 'mystydata';

I do not see anything that comes close to this in the config.php file

Is this the correct file? If so can you mark it up for me?

Rick

<?PHP // $Id: config.php,v 1.21 2004/03/31 04:14:13 moodler Exp $
// config.php - allows admin to edit all configuration variables

require_once("../config.php");

if ($site = get_site()) { // If false then this is a new installation
require_login();
if (!isadmin()) {
error("Only the admin can use this page");
}
}

/// This is to overcome the "insecure forms paradox"
if (isset($secureforms) and $secureforms == 0) {
$match = "nomatch";
} else {
$match = "";
}

/// If data submitted, then process and store.

if ($config = data_submitted($match)) {

validate_form($config, $err);

if (count($err) == 0) {
print_header();
foreach ($config as $name => $value) {
if ($name == "sessioncookie") {
$value = eregi_replace("[^a-zA-Z]", "", $value);
}
unset($conf);
$conf->name = $name;
$conf->value = $value;
if ($current = get_record("config", "name", $name)) {
$conf->id = $current->id;
if (! update_record("config", $conf)) {