Databases: DB2 implementation

Databases: DB2 implementation

by Christian Heyner -
Number of replies: 21

Hi,

Has anybody started or tried implementing DB2 as a database for moodle?

If yes, please tell me about your efforts and where you are.

If not, who might be interested in using DB2 as a database for moodle?

Thanks for your comments!

Christian

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Christian Heyner

Re: Databases: DB2 implementation

by Marcus Green -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
because moodle uses adodb and adodb has db2 support it should be doable.
In reply to Christian Heyner

by David Savill -
We are planning to implement this.

Has anyone made any progress towards this front that they would be willing to share?

We will post our mods back to the community to use.
In reply to David Savill

by Rama Raajun -
Hi guys,

I'm also interested in implementing moodle with DB2. I am a novice moodle developer.

We can get started guys. Is there any way i can help u out. I am working on fedora with DB2 and XAMPP.
In reply to Rama Raajun

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
You need to decide if you need to work on Moodle 1.9, or whether you can wait for Moodle 2.0, the reason being that that DB abstraction layer changed a bit in Moodle 2.0, so you would need to do slightly different things in each place.