Windows server: Installing Moodle using XAMP

Windows server: Installing Moodle using XAMP

by Mike Smith -
Number of replies: 17
I have read as advised the relevant Moodle docs on installing Moodle and the route using XAMP looks to be the more straight forward. Would this method be suitable for a production server for a large number of students. I am a moodle novice but learning fast! The server uses windows 2003 and Internet Explorer v6
Mike
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mike Smith

Re: Windows server: Installing Moodle using XAMP

by Dennis Flynn -
I feel it's important to understand all softwares running on a production server. For that reason, I'd suggest you stay away from the "packages" and install and configure each software individually. Decide if you'll use IIS or Apache, and setup a website to make sure you have a functioning webserver. Install and configure PHP, and setup a php page to make sure everything's working (i.e. phpinfo.php). Install and configure MySQL, create a database user for your Moodle database, create your Moodle database, assign the user you created all privileges except Grant. Go through the moodle configuration. Good Luck.
In reply to Dennis Flynn

by Sulaiman Hana Permana -
Hai Dennis,
which one do you suggest for production web server on windows 2003 server, IIS or apache ? Thanks
In reply to Sulaiman Hana Permana

by Mike Smith -
Hi
I have recently installed Moodle 1.8 onto a server using XAMPP with IIS present. Initially we had some minor problems and, as it was late on a friday night decided to opt for Apache and removed IIS. Moodle was succesfully installed and is now being tested by colleagues. We have not yet set everything up for a full production server. So its early days yet. But Apache worked for us. Mike

In reply to Dennis Flynn

New Moodle server

by Doris Johnson -