Importing, Exporting quizzes

Importing, Exporting quizzes

by Richard Treves -
Number of replies: 14

I'm pretty new to all this stuff so hopefully someone can help me.

I understand QTI is a standard and that as with SCORM it should allow quizzes to be moved between platforms.  I also understand that XML is a markup language but I'm not really sure how this helps exporting quizzes from one format to another.

I don't know what platform I'll be using for delivering our content (cross fingers Moodle wink ) so I decided to generate stand alone quizzes that can be put on any VLE or web page.  I lose tracking of students taking the quiz but as the quizzes are all formative I didn't think this was a huge teaching loss.  The obvious chocie was hot potatoes but I rejected this because we'd have to get a licence. My solution was to develope a flash file that handles multiple choice questions, I recognise that I will probably ditch this development sometime in the future.

Questions:

- If I have the origonal data what do I need to think about to enable the data to be transferred to another format at some later date?

- How does XML fit in with all of this?

All the best

Richard

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Richard Treves

Re: Importing, Exporting quizzes

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
*should* allow quizzes to be transferred is about the size of it.

The IMS QTI specification is incredibly complicated and is unlikely (at the moment anyway) to be supported in full by any VLE (or whatever they are called this week). I think that makes it (and other standards) difficult to recommend at the moment although other may disagree. I would suggest to you that right now, today it may be quickest and less error prone to re-enter the quiz in a new platform.

To get to your questions...