migrating to new host

migrating to new host

by RF Stewart -
Number of replies: 26
I have decided that siteground.com superpackage for moodlehosting is not adequate for a classroom with 25 students all logging in at once form our school computer lab. I am a public school teacher trying to provide supplemental learning experiences through my moodle site. They suggest upgrading to $89.95/month from $5.95/month, for services I was led to expect from the affordable superpackage. I have, instead, hired another host VPS package with great expectations and additional expenses. I have read everything I can find on moodle forums and documentation but am still beating my head against the wall to migrate my site with 17 courses to this new host.
I have tried a new install of moodle 1.8 but cannot get it to recognize my courses in the uploaddata file. It remains a blank shell of a new install.
I have tried a .zip total backup of the original site. I have transferred the URL name and MySQL dabase but get the following error:

Warning: require_once() [function.require-once]: open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/home/xyzzer/public_html/learn/lib/setup.php) is not within the allowed path(s): (/home/xyzzer5:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/tmp) in /home/xyzzer5/public_html/learn/config.php on line 22

Warning: require_once(/home/xyzzer/public_html/learn/lib/setup.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: Operation not permitted in /home/xyzzer5/public_html/learn/config.php on line 22

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/xyzzer/public_html/learn/lib/setup.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/xyzzer5/public_html/learn/config.php on line 22

It seems so simple when I read the forum posts and docs, but I have no expericence with php and server applications. My host tech support is not experienced with moodle migration either.
What can I do to put the pieces back together again?
Average of ratings: -