biggener want to develop

biggener want to develop

by sohad aabed -
Number of replies: 11

hello

i am very begginer to the moodle ,i wish to do little development on moodle codes as i am student and do that as aproject in my study..

but some problems face me..

First :How i can know the exact functions i should to change or  modify?

Second : i learn PHP very recently , but still need to know constants, veriables and DB entries of moodle..how can i treat with code of number of thousands of lines as i am new to it..??

sorry but I feel enthusiasm  and   hurry in  the reply

thanks

Average of ratings: -
In reply to sohad aabed

Re: biggener want to develop

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
If you have not already found it, the main source of developer documentation is http://docs.moodle.org/en/Development:Developer_documentation.

For finding where to start, you need to know that when you are looking at, for example, http://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=82799, then the code for that is in /mod/forum/discuss.php, and you just need to follow through what it does.

It call functions in the main Moodle libraries, and the three most important are:

lib/moodlelib.php - general stuff.
lib/weblib.php - things to do with output of HTML
lib/dmllib.php - things to do with getting data in and out of the database.

As you look at the code, it is often a good idea, to insert statements like

debugging('In function require_login');
or
print_object($course);