Science lab re-design

Science lab re-design

by Vinny Stocker -
Number of replies: 8
Picture of Plugin developers

Hi,

I didn't really know where to post this so here goes. Hopefully someone out there in Moodle land might be able to give me some good ideas.

I am a teacher in the UK and am re-designing one of our school science labs to have computers at hand for pupils to use. The object of this is to;

a, increase the use of online learning within lessons and

b, allow data from experiments to be sent to the computers for graphing and analysis.

As it is a Science lab there is both water and bunsen burners etc. both of which computers don't really get along with. I am looking for examples of similar labs, designs, best practice, any links or ideas to help me make up my mind exactly what we should be going for would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Vinny

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Vinny Stocker

Re: Science lab re-design

by Sherry Brown -
My best lab (physics) had hexagonal island/tables with a computer on one facet of the hexagon with work table at the next facet. From above, each hexagon had three spokes (tables). Plenty of working room around the table (no bumping into other kids).

For Chemistry, I need some time to think about this - where will gas/water/electricity be piped in? There was a lab space design web page (US) but can't remember where I found it (I did the Physics lab about 6 years ago).

Especially for Chemistry (where the water is an issue) have you thought about hand held units like the nifty new LabQuest from Vernier? or Explorer GLS from Pasco? I know these are US companies, but the technology is first rate and you can do quite a bit without a huge, honking desktop. You can print from these hand held units (USB ports) and view graphs on the display.

In reply to Sherry Brown

by D.I. von Briesen -
You should mock it up in second life - so you can do a real walkthru before committing to anything.

d.i. (icabad vallejo in second life)