graph question types

graph question types

by David Willington -
Number of replies: 10
I've been asked to look into turning British GCSE maths papers (taken by 16 year olds) into quizzes. I reckon that we can cover about half the questions, but I can't see how to do questions of the type 'Draw a graph to...', 'draw a pie chart to ...' etc, in other words questions which don't fit into the regular expression / short answer type. My thoughts were that there may be a flash / javascript solution and I've found discussions around this sort of thing but nothing that works. I've not programmed flash, but I have some javascript experience. Can anyone tell me if I'm barking up the wrong tree, if what I'm trying to do is or isn't technically feasible. I've attached one of the questions. Most of it can be done with moodle as it is, but 'Draw the line of best fit' is a problem

Thanks
Attachment graph_question.jpg
Average of ratings: -
In reply to David Willington

Re: graph question types

by John Isner -
Students can use desktop applications to create graphs and other mathematical artifacts. Everybody's current favorite (including mine) seems to be free program GeoGebra.

Suppose you want students to create a graph of some equation. Students create a "worksheet" using the GeoGebra desktop application, then press the save button, creating a ggb file, which they can then upload to Moodle. Typically, you will use an "Upload a single file" Assignment for this.

Added benefit: GeoGebra worksheets can be displayed in Moodle using the GeoGebra filter.

In your example, students were given a set of points and asked to draw a line of best fit. You (the teacher) would plot the points in GeoGebra, save the ggb file, upload it to Moodle, and link to it from an assignment. Students would then download your file, load it into GeoGebra, plot the line, re-save the ggb file and submit it to the assignment.